Some sunrises are fiery and red, Some are Orange, Some are Pink.

One of my favourites recently was muted and blue. . .

A common belief here is that seeing an eagle is a sign that everything will be OK. I repeat this to myself every time I see one.. which is often!  I shot this series of images from my front porch one dewy morning. I recently moved into another house in Ahousaht. It’s call sign used to be Mountainview for the spectacular mountain views. We’ve renamed it however, to Whalescout – because I’m always scouting for whales!

My spruce branch photo was selected by Marisa Pahl for her 100 paintings campaign. Each one is being auctioned off to support Pacific Wild. I am looking forward to purchasing a print when they are available!

a u c t i o n c l o s e d . 🌲 💛 👉 this one goes to @mrslightnin ! February 11, 2016. Two inches x two inches. Watercolour on Arches Aquarelle 140 lb CP cotton paper. Please bid in Instagram on this post in CAN dollars only. Auction is open for seven days and closes on February 18th at 11:59 pm. All 200 artworks will be framed and exhibited together before being sent to their new owners in Dec 2016. 50% of proceeds go to @pacificwild in support of their work for the Great Bear Rainforest. This painting is inspired by @westcoastkayaker – a photographer and teacher in Ahousaht, BC. Marcie teaches her grade 7 class about taking care of the environment. She cleans garbage up when she's out and about in her boat and she's organizing a harbor clean up this spring. Marcie lives in Ahousaht – a small community on Flores Island, nestled on the Pacific Coast a short boat ride from Tofino. This photo is a spruce tree in front of her home. #thiswildroad #wildernessculture #staywild

A post shared by Marisa Pahl (@marisapahl) on

