I know it’s early, but I wanted to take a quiet moment to write a ‘personal’ blog post and wish all of you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Christmas break has been a nice retreat from work life, and Lennie and I have been working hard on the house renovations. It’s nice to see progress, like white ceilings and window frames! Our goal today is to get the living room completely painted – One more coat of teal on the accent wall and two coats of cream on the other three walls. The 2 coats of white were completed on the ceiling yesterday.

The accent wall is much ‘bluer’ than this photo suggests. Behind all those clouds is a gorgeous snowcapped mountain view!

We have decided to leave the fireplace where it is at and upgrade the heat shielding around it, as well as eventually purchase a new fireplace itself. It’s currently a gorgeous cast iron one, but is better suited for the smoke house.

Just this morning I decided on how to do the countertop upgrade. It seems you can do a concrete overlay on laminate counters. So we will be looking into purchasing supplies for that and having that shipped in. It’s a fairly simple, but time consuming task. I would also like to do a tile mosaic in the bathroom with a teal/blue ombre theme.

Last night we had our first (And likely only) snowfall in Ahousaht. It was great to have a few flakes come down and have a very temporary white covering on the ground. This morning though it is raining harder than ever. DSC_0003-001

With a string of recent power outages we have started to go through our candles rather quickly. A well-timed FB post showed up on my timeline showing a simple way to make your own candles! I decided to give it a try and I was quite happy with the result (Though I forgot to add the cedar essential oil that I bought specifically for the project!). I burned my first of the 4 I made last night and I was happy to see it burn well. A  large flame at first that soon settled into a smaller than usual, but clean burning flame. The colours look great too, and it’s just a bit of wax pastels!

I am looking forward to a quiet Ahousaht Christmas with some turkey, mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts… mmmmmmm! I will be spending time with my parents after Christmas – They are going to come spend some time in Tofino and we will have a west coast holiday. Beach walks every day!

Wishing you and yours all the best this holiday season and in the year to come.

 

 

